Vijlbrief, Hans - from Netherlands

ID: 25675
Organization: BRU
Country of meeting: in the year 2017

Has been president of the Eurogroup Working Group in Brussels since February 2018. Members of the Eurogroup Working Group include high-ranking national civil servants and senior officials of the European Commission and the European Central Bank. The Eurogroup Working Group assists the Euro Group, which comprises the Eurozone’s Finance Ministers, and prepares all of its meetings. From 2011 to 2018, Vijlbrief was treasurer general of the Ministry of Finance. In this capacity, he was closely involved in determining the Eurogroup’s agenda. Between 2012 and 2014, he was chair of the European Union’s Economic Policy Committee. Vijlbrief is also the former chair of the European Financial Stability Facility (EFSF), which was created by EU members in 2010 to prevent Greece from going bankrupt.

Prior to 2011, Vijlbrief held various high-ranking posts at, among others, the Ministry of Economic Affairs. He was director general of Energy, Telecom and Competition and director general of Economic Policy at the Ministry of Economic Affairs. Vijlbrief was also professor of Economic Policy at the Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam (VU Amsterdam) from 2000 to 2010, the same university where he studied Economics and obtained his PhD in 1992 on the influence of unemployment benefits on the Dutch labour market.

Activities in the Orangization: